The Newcomers

Play Song
Pause Song

About the TV Show

The Newcomers

The Newcomers

First Air Date: November 01, 1977

First Aired on    :   1977
Status    :   Ended
Created By    :   
Networks    :   CBC Television
Genres    :   Drama
Seasons/Episodes    :   7 episodes in 1 Seasons

The Newcomers was a series of seven hour-long Canadian television specials that aired from 1977 to 1980 on CBC Television. The series was sponsored by Imperial Oil to mark the company's 100th anniversary in 1980. The series, written by Timothy Findley and Alice Munro, explored the theme of Canada as a nation built by immigrants, spanning from the era before Canada was founded until modern times. A French version aired on Radio-Canada with the title Les Arrivants. The opening theme music for the series was composed by Hagood Hardy.

The Newcomers on IMDb 0


season poster

Season 1 (1977)

7 episodes

Main Actors