Journey to the West

Play Song
Pause Song

About the TV Show

Journey to the West

西游记 孙悟空

Journey to the West

First Air Date: November 18, 1996

First Aired on    :   1996
Status    :   Ended
Created By    :   Gordon
Networks    :   TVB Jade
Genres    :   Action & Adventure,Sci-Fi & Fantasy
Seasons/Episodes    :   72 episodes in 2 Seasons

Journey to the West is a Hong Kong television series adapted from the classical novel of the same title. Starring Dicky Cheung, Kwong Wah, Wayne Lai and Evergreen Mak, the series was produced by TVB and was first broadcast on TVB Jade in Hong Kong in November 1996. A sequel, Journey to the West II, was broadcast in 1998, but the role of the Monkey King was played by Benny Chan instead, due to contract problems between Dicky Cheung and TVB. Cheung later reprised the role in another television series The Monkey King: Quest for the Sutra, which was broadcast on TVB but not produced by the station.



season poster

Season 2 (1998)

42 episodes

season poster

Season 1 (1996)

30 episodes

Main Actors